“Youth does not require reasons for living, it only needs pretexts.”

Wednesday, October 22, 2008

KOALA Winners

I spent a wonderfully exhausting day today out at Blacktown Library for the 2008 KOALA Awards Day. I got to meet (and have lunch with) Duncan Ball, Ursula Dubosarsky, Anna Fienberg, Kim Gamble, Catherine Jinks, Chris Milne and Emily Rodda. I also got to meet all the students from across the state who attended Awards Day.

It was a great day despite the miserable and wild weather. Val the KOALA Secretary commented 'it is the first time that authors have had to come through snow to attend Awards Day!'

The 2008 Kids Own Australian Literature Awards were announced and the winners are:
Picture Book Winner: Annie's Chair by Deborah Niland
Honour Books: Where is the green sheep? by Mem Fox and Judy Horacek and Rex by Ursula Dubosarsky and David Mackintosh

Younger Readers Winner: Just Shocking! by Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton
Honour Books: Tashi & the mixed up monster and Selby Shattered by Duncan Ball and Allan Stomann

Older Readers Winner: The Key to Rondo by Emily Rodda
Honour Books: Boy Overboard by Morrris Gleitzman and Spookiest stories by Paul Jennings

Fiction Years 7-9 Winner: Mao's Last Dancer by Lee Cunxin
Honour Book: Dragon Moon by Carole Wilkinson

Here are a couple of pic's Yvonne took today.
Ursula Dubosarsky, Catherine Jinks, Duncan Ball and Emily Rodda

Anna Fienberg and her Tashi doll.
Did you know? Anna invented the Tashi stories with her mum, and Kim Gamble invented the way Tashi looks. Kim had this little doll made for Anna so he could keep her company while she writes, but Anna's little boy liked the tashi doll so much Anna gave it to him.
Kim Gamble and the artwork he created in front of our eyes.
Kim's artwork was won by Wollondilly Public School on Awards Day. Kim was inspired to create a dragon for Tashi after Lee Castledine told the assembly a story about a great dragon and a magic golden snail.

No comments: